Posted by: pennysplayground | September 19, 2010

We All Scream…For Ice Cream…!

I love ice cream and when the mood hits me, I could probably eat it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner (I don’t, but I definitely “could”).  One of our favorite ice cream parlors to go to here on Oahu is Bubbies “Homemade Ice Cream”.

Bubbies is a really popular spot near the University of Hawaii where people of all ages go to get their quick fix of creamy, delicious ice cream.   You can stop in and do take out, but if you have the time to sit down and relax, the inside of the shop has a really nice, quaint ambience that fits right in with all of their homemade ice cream delights.

They have a lot of the standard flavors like chocolate, vanilla, strawberry, but they also make their own specialty flavors like green tea, lychee, and azuki bean which are really great.  There are so many different flavors and treats to choose from that sometimes it’s hard to decide what to get.  I usually end up sticking  with the “ol’ reliable” Oreo Cookie which is my favorite.

The nice air conditioned indoor seating is rustic and intimate and is always a popular late night “date” spot or after the movies stop over.  We happened to be in the mood for ice cream one night so we all piled into the car and drove on over.

"Hmmm....."

As usual, Penny was quite well behaved, content to sit quietly in her bag on the chair next to me, although I do think that even she wanted to see what all the fuss was about over this “I-Scream” that everyone was talking about.

"Wot's Dat...?"

"Can I haz some please Daddy...?"

Now, I don’t really know if Bubbies is “pet friendly” per se, but no one really made a fuss that Penny was there and we did kinda sneak her in (Sorry Mr. Bubbies…!), but the people sitting around us did think she was really cute poking her head out and looking at everything going on.

While we do give Penny yogurt occasionally, ice cream is a definite “no no” because of the added sugars, etc.  I know that some people feed their dogs ice cream with no ill effects, and I’ll eat it by the gallon (not at one sitting of course), but we try to limit the type of “human” food that we feed Penny.  To her credit, she never begs or barks…she’ll just wait patiently or take a nap until we’re finished.

"Zzzzz...ice cream....omnomnom...zzzzz"

Bubbies Homemade Ice Cream
1010 University Ave. #B4
Honolulu, HI  96826
Tel: 808-949-8984
Hours: Mon-Thu

にほんブログ村 犬ブログ ビションフリーゼへBichon Frise Links

Responses

  1. Hi. How are you and your wife and Penny?
    It ‘s very nice ice cream shop! I like homemade!
    There is a ice cream shop which is called “thirty-one” in Japan. Maybe, Pensuke-san knows! But ” thirty-one” shop is not homemade. It’s chain store.
    Pennyちゃん、キャリーバッグの中で大人しくしているんですね。お利口さんだ!

    • Hi Sasachi…! Penny and Pensuke are doing fine…I am fighting a bit of a cold right now. Yes, Bubbies is our favorite ice cream shop. We also have “31” here in America, but it is called “Baskin Robbins”. My favorite flavor there is Jamoca Almond Fudge. 😀

      Penny is always a good girl when we take her outside. Today she’s been a little mischievous since I’ve been sick and she hasn’t been able to go outside and exercise. She has cabin fever so is being a bit naughty.

  2. Penny is a very well behaved lady!
    In Boston where I live, it is not allowed to bring in your pets to any restaurants/cafes (it is a law, I guess), so unfortunately I can’t enjoy any good food with my dog. But I guess it is a good thing for us as my dog would get too excited if he sees/smells food!

    • Hi Takayo…thank you for your comment. In most restaurants here they don’t allow pets because of the health department, but some restaurants are “pet friendly” and will allow you to eat outside with your pet, or inside if your dog is well behaved and in an enclosed bag. We are always searching for pet friendly stores and restaurants here in Hawaii, and we try to visit them often so that perhaps if they do well business wise, more places will also decide to go pet friendly. 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

