Posted by: pennysplayground | March 22, 2010

Love At First Sight…

Puppies, like children, grow up so quickly.  It seems like it was just yesterday that my wife and I were at our local pet store, peering anxiously into the cages, trying to catch a glimpse of one of the cute little fur balls as they rolled around and played happily together…

My wife grew up never having any pets, so after much research, she decided that for her first dog she wanted to get a Bichon Frise.  I let my fingers do the walking through our local yellow pages and with my trusty cell phone in hand rushed down to a nearby pet store as soon as I heard they had 2 males and a female available.

To be honest, at the time, I couldn’t have told you the difference between a Bichon and a Maltipoo (or a Labridoodle for that matter), I just wanted a dog…any kind of dog, so you could say that I was a man on a mission.

The girls at the pet store were very helpful, and even volunteered to bring the lone female bichon out of the cage so I could “hold” her.  Having been around the block a few times, I was hip to their devious sales ploy, so I politely declined but did ask to snap a quick picture for my wife.

That was how I first met Penny.  She was so tiny at a mere 4 pounds, she looked more like a cute little stuffed animal than any kind of dog that I’d ever seen.

The next evening my wife and I went down to the pet store and once again the friendly and helpful girls brought out the female bichon, but this time they gave her directly to my wife to hold.  

Well needless to say, it was a done deal.  For my wife, it was love at first sight…all that was left to do was pick out the doggie bowls, doggie bed, doggie fence, cute doggie toys, pay the rather hefty doggie fee, and head home with the newest addition to our family.

And that is how our wonderful adventure started.

にほんブログ村 犬ブログ ビションフリーゼへ
Bichon Frise Links

Leave a Reply

Categories

